4 weeks into coding bootcamp

Photo by 傅甬 华 on Unsplash

4 weeks into coding bootcamp

Frustrated();

Absolutely frustrated();

The intensity of this program and the speed in which you have to learn and apply is insane. How can someone ever keep up? I feel like I must always get ahead of class or else I'll never understand the concepts. All this takes time. Time away from working on your weekly projects and trying to maintain all that you've learned. Frustration is what I feel, but I must power through.

Our first project was working with html and css. We had to create a responsive website and uploaded it to our github. They gave us a week to finish which is reasonable considering is only html and css. However, the thing about coding is that whenever you think you're done, you're probably wrong. I was working hard through this project and told my friends I only need 30 minutes to finish then I would get online and play some Elden Ring. This 30 minutes lingered into 3 hours. By the time I was "finished", It was too late to get online.

This only got worse when we had our Javascript assignment. The bootcamp spends 1 week to basically explain to you the important syntax and semantics. Then you're on your own. Gotta have that project done within 1 week.

Javascript can be so abstract sometimes. You can be creative. You can have the same result with different methods of code. THAT is the hardest part for me to grasp. There's no 1 solution to a problem. There are multiple. Our brains are wired to multitask and think ahead. We have to force ourselves to think step by step or in other words learn how to pseudocode. Write things down and work through it that way. This makes it a bit easier, but I still have a hard time. I wake up feeling stupid having spent a day and a half on a single problem then having to erase the entire project because I was solving it incorrectly. It's frustrating!

I hope I don't discourage anyone wanting to learn or currently going through a coding bootcamp. No pain no gain as my teacher says. And i know that this is just the beginning. Things are going to get much harder from here on out.